UPDATE: Bracknell MP James Sunderland has resigned from government

UPDATE: Newbury Tory MP calls for Boris Johnson's resignation

Members of the Conservative Party that represent Berkshire constituents have been eerily quiet on what has been another day of drama at Westminster. 

Boris Johnson vowed to “keep going” during Prime Ministers Questions (PMQ’s) despite the number of resignations from his government in the past 24 hours reaching 32 and counting – most notably the Chancellor Rishi Sunak, and the Health and Social Care Secretary Sajid Javid last night  

There have also been a number of other MPs who have publicly withdrawn support for Mr Johnson, including Liam Fox who urged him to “do the right thing and resign.” 

READ MORE: Reading man thrown into river after being robbed of phone and card

None of the six local Tory MPs have made a public statement on whether Mr Johnson maintains their support since the resignations started  

The Prime Minister is facing mutiny from his own party following his handling of the scandal involving former deputy chief whip, Chris Pincher. 

Mr Johnson had earlier said he made a “big mistake” in hiring the MP as his deputy chief whip, who has been accused of sexual misconduct, but only after days of claiming he wasn’t aware of the allegations.   

The two key roles of Chancellor and Health Secretary have already been filled with Nadhim Zahawi and Steve Barclay respectively. 

Conservative MP for Wokingham John Redwood has commented on the installation of the new chancellor by urging Mr Zahawi to “avoid a recession” by cutting tax. 

“Inflation will fall next year. The new Chancellor needs to fight recession which high taxes and tight money will bring on,” he added. 

READ MORE: Taylor Wimpey maintenance completed to a ‘poor standard’

“The last Chancellor said he believed in low taxes, but he kept putting them up. Can the new Chancellor cheer us up and avoid recession by actually cutting tax?” 

Tory MPs for Bracknell Forest James Sunderland, West Reading Alok Sharma, Newburry Laura Farris, Windsor Adam Afriyie and the former PM and current MP for Maidenhead Theresa May have been tight lipped since the drama began to unfold. 

Labour MP for East Reading Matt Rodda has also not made a public comment, but Labour’s MP for Slough, Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi, accused the “ineffective, spineless Cabinet” of enabling “a corrupt, liar of a PM”. 

“Even now, despite Government collapsing around them, many sit there and continue to parrot his constant bluster. The ‘work’ of this Government resulted in nothing but chaos and they need to go,” Mr Dhesi added. 

Mr Johnson survived a confidence vote last month so is shielded from another challenge for another 12 months under the current rules. However, there has been talk of the 1922 committee of backbench Conservative MPs changing the rules to allow a second vote. 

But it is clear that Mr Johnson intends to try and ride out the storm, he claims the job of PM who has a “colossal mandate” is to “keep going”. 

“That’s what I am going to do,” he insisted. 

Below is a list of government resignations so far. It is accurate at the time of publication. 

 Sajid Javid – Health Secretary 

Rishi Sunak – Chancellor 

Andrew Murrison – Trade Envoy to Morocco 

Bim Afolami – Conservative Party Vice-Chair 

Jonathan Gullis – Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to the Northern Ireland Secretary 

Saqib Bhatti – PPS to the Health Secretary 

Nicola Richards – PPS to the Transport Secretary 

Virginia Crosbie – PPS to the Wales Secretary 

Theo Clark – Trade Envoy to Kenya 

Alex Chalk – Solicitor General 

Will Quince – Children and Families Minister 

Laura Trott – PPS to the Transport Secretary 

Robin Walker – Schools Minister 

Felicity Buchan – PPS to the Business Secretary 

John Glen – Treasury Minister 

Victoria Atkins – Justice Minister 

Jo Churchill – Defra Minister 

Stuart Andrew – Housing Minister 

Selaine Saxby – PPS to the Treasury 

Claire Coutinho – PPS to the Treasury 

David Johnston – PPS to the Education Secretary 

Kemi Badenoch – Equalities and Local Government Minister 

Neil O’Brien – Levelling Up Minister 

Alex Burghart – Education Minister 

Lee Rowley – Business Minister 

Julia Lopez – Culture Minister 

Mims Davies – Department for Work and Pensions Minister 

Duncan Baker – PPS to secretary for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities 

Rachel Maclean – Safeguarding Minister 

Craig Williams – PPS for Treasury 

Mark Logan – PPS to the Northern Ireland Office 

Mike Freer – UK Exports Minister