The three winning plays in the 17th Kenneth Branagh Awards competition for new drama writing have been chosen - from 236 scripts submitted from 13 countries.

The competition is a major part of the annual Windsor Fringe Festival - with the three finalist plays performed over three nights and a final winner announced at the end.

Sadly this year the plays will not be performed live as the fringe has been cancelled because of the Coronavirus lockdown.

But competition founder and organiser Ann Trewartha from Windsor hopes it will be possible to film them, enabling supporters to see them acted.

The 236 scripts were read by a team of 33 volunteers - and the final winner will be chosen by actress Jenny Seagrove and director Joan Lane.

The three finalist plays were announced online on Tuesday by Ann.

Meanwhile Sir Kenneth Branagh, who has leant his name to the competition from the start has sent a message of support for the Windsor Fringe despite this year's disappointment.

The finalist plays are Only Human by Ricky Davies from West London, Touch the Moon by Arianna Rose from Miami Beach USA and The Steps to the Stage by Richard Brabin from Oxford.